"Winter Tales"

  • "Winter Tales"

Travelling through Japan is like travelling through time. You can witness the most advanced technology in the busy center of Tokyo and you can hear nothing but the sound of the waves in Sado. You can visit the most beautiful buddhist temples in Nara and you can get lost in Kyoto’s old streets. Winter can be rough, but you can always find a cozy place to enjoy the snow over a cup of tea, It’s not difficult to get inspired. Welcome to my winter tales in Japan.
All songs composed by Juan Ortiz
Artwork: Naiel Ibarrola.
Recorded live in December 2016. 
Gear used: Prepared Upright Piano, Rhodes Mk I, Juno 106, Chorus Echo RE-501, Roland TR-8, Hammond Organ X5, Moog Mother 32 & Ableton Push 2. 
Mixed and Mastered in December 2016 at El Canton de la Soledad Estudios, Vitoria, by Juanan Ros and Juan Ortiz.
Juan Ortiz (32, Bilbao, Spain) began his musical studies at the age of 4, and has been deeply committed to music ever since. He started his career in Bilbao as a classical musician, and moved to San Sebastian in 2006 to pursue a jazz piano degree at MUSIKENE. There he studied with teachers such as Iñaki Salvador, Perico Sambeat, and Jorge Rossy, among others, and completed his studies in 2010. He has also studied with musicians Jean-Michel Pilc, Agustí Fernandez, and Moisés P. Sanchez.

In 2011 he moved to Madrid, and founded his own jazz trio with David Ruiz (double bass) and Borja Barrueta (drums). In May 2012 they recorded the CD "Life is Too Short," a live concert performance that was awarded the "Best Jazz Recording of the Year" by the BBK Jazz Awards.

Juan is a young and restless musician with a wide variety of international professional experience. He has performed on board a cruise ship in the Caribbean, with the funky big band The Cherry Boppers in Europe, and was recently a teacher at Kathmandu Jazz Conservatory in Nepal. His passion has taken him to stages all over the world, from Amsterdam to Calcutta, from London to Tokyo.

Winter Tales, winner of the Musika Bulegoa Sariak Awards 2017 for "Best Jazz Album of The Year".


1. Kyoto (09:51)
2. Nara (03:54)
3. Tokyo (09:26)
4. Nami no oto, mushi no koe (06:24)

Juan Ortiz


  • Egileak Juan Ortiz
  • DiskoetxeaAutoekoizpena
  • Zenbatekoa8,00 € (CD) / 6,00 € (disko digitala)
  • FormatuaCD / MP3
  • HizkuntzaBat ere ez
  • Argitalpen-urtea2017
  • LizentziaCopyright
Euskadi, auzolana